This one is for Erica (and Ben maybe, too) the green smoothie "recipe"
The trick is... There is no set recipe! I seriously just use what I have. BUT I do have to say, we usually have spinach or kale around, and some sort of frozen fruit (cold green smoothies are ALWAYS better!)
So here is the basics:
*handful (or two) of some kind of greens... Spinach, lettuce, kale, collard greens, anything.
*about a cup of frozen fruits (we usually use a berry mix, mangos, blueberries, etc...
*any other fruit or veggie you have laying around that you think could taste good, such as lemon (yumm!!) or lime, bananas, oranges, peaches, sprouts, carrots, avocado (makes it really creamy), you get the picture. We tend to use the fruit that is about to be tossed, but not always.
*either juice or water... I use enough to cover the blades on the blender to kind of give it an easier time.
Some other additions to add something else to it: yogurt, cinnamon, vanilla, maple syrup, wheat germ, nuts, protein powder, oh, the possibilities are endless!
Another hint, if you have produce that is nearing its end, wash it and dry it, if necessary, then put it in a Baggie a pop it in the freezer. I do this a lot with my greens, when they are on sale or I just happen to buy too much or something.
Also, if you freeze avocados or bananas, peel them first...it will help when you take them out.
That's our basic smoothie recipe!
I will try to add more recipes... We just got an iPad, so I am figuring how to blog from it, so I can blog from our trip (that we leave for in ONE week!!!)
Showing posts with label recipe. Show all posts
Showing posts with label recipe. Show all posts
Sunday, June 10, 2012
Wednesday, May 23, 2012
Mother's Day (at the zoo)
I had a fabulous Mother's Day! I felt so special with my four wonderful little rascals celebrating for me! Tyler helped them pick out the cute garden (or kitchen) gnome for me! I am so excited to get to go paint him!!!
They woke me up a bit early (your supposed to get to sleep in on Mother's Day, right?) at 730am, but it was sleeping in an hour past usual... plus they had breakfast in bed! With a flower even.
And of course, chocolates were had. Tyler knows what I need.
The gnome is kind of a funny gift. Tyler HATES garden gnomes (he thought the movie "Gnomeo and Juliet" was pretty cute, and he thought the boys dressed as gnomes for Halloween was cute... but for some reason, he dislikes the garden variety pretty hard.... unfair! I think they are so cute! The travelocity gnome is just so cute! Anyways, he got me a gnome... he must really love me!
Then we went to the zoo.. one of our favorite things to do around here. The peacock is one of Ayla's favorite, and she always tries to get close.
Do peacocks bite? or peck?
Isn't the mountain lion picture a tad scary? These 2 here will prowl and follow anything with wheels... aka kids in strollers!
Watch out!!
I am on day 3 of my 30 day vegan class... and completely loving it!!!
Today we had baked tofu with watermelon salsa (I thought it was fantastic) and a strawberry "cheese" cake for dessert. And for breakfast, I made this cashew cream sauce for over berries... it was to die for! I like this vegan thing... or maybe just getting new recipes and cooking new stuff is fun. Either way, I find it WAY more healthier than I was eating... which was pretty healthy to begin with!Well, I better go help Tyler pack for our weekend camping trip (again!). We are gearing up for the big one next month!
Thursday, January 5, 2012
Christmas Eve
Even though I have lots of pictures to put up here that happened before Christmas (Florida, for one!) I decided to start with Christmas Eve. I just put 650 ish pictures on to the computer, so I have tons to share!!
So.. we invited some friends over for dinner on Christmas Eve. My back had been hurting all week, so I didn't do much... just ham, stuffing and green bean casserole.
But, Ayla and I made some awesome cinnamon rolls for the neighbors! They were so tasty, if I do say so myself.
The recipe is from the Pioneer Woman :: here.
Don't they look delicious?
All boxed up and ready to go. I doubled the recipe and came out with nine (9!!) to give to friends/neighbors! We of course kept one for breakfast!
We went as a family to deliver them too... it was quite comical, in reality.
Here is a group shot of the kids on Christmas Eve.
And look at these puppies?! Could they be any cuter? And no, they aren't ours... however, Colton really wishes we would get one!
Kellen on the other hand, was FRIGHTENED by these two things! It was the funniest to see him running from these balls of fur, with a look of utter fear in his eyes :) of course we saved him from the monsters!
Opening our Christmas Eve gifts. We have decided to continue the Aamot side tradition of opening one gift on Christmas Eve.... Tyler is still skeptical of this one.
Traditions are fun to compromise on, right?
I have to say that seeing Kellen open things was particularly fun because it is really his first Christmas of wonder. And that wonder is so incredibly priceless!
Wednesday, March 2, 2011
Mountain Bars :: A Childhood Favorite
These recipe came from my mom... not sure where she got it, but I remember her making these when I was a kid all the time. And they were one of my favorites! Still to this day, too.Kellen and I made them today; he was quite the little helper! And Oh So Cute!
SIMPLE NO BAKE MOUNTAIN BARS OR COOKIES2 cups sugar (I used 1 3/4 cups, and it was still great!)
1/2 cup margarine or butter
1/2 cup of milk
1/2 cup cocoa (dry)
3 cups (quick cooking instant) oatmeal (or grind up some regular oatmeal for same effect)
1 cup of creamy or chunky peanut butter
1 tsp. vanilla
opt:: I added about 1/2- 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut, and I have to say, it was fabulous!

Mix first 4 ingredients in saucepan on medium heat. Boil 1 minute or 2. Take off heat and add peanut butter, stir until smooth and creamy. Stir in oats (and coconut) and vanilla. Mix until all mixed together.Drop onto wax paper with a big spoon and let cool in freezer for 1/2 hour or until cool. When putting away, store in airtight container.
Wednesday, August 4, 2010
WIP kind of
Here is the recipe. I stuck to it mostly, except I used 1/2 wheat and 1/2 bread flour. We added Parmesan cheese on some and cinnamon and sugar on some and left some plain. All were scrumptious.
Boiling the rounds.
This is what Kellen thought of the whole process.
Fresh out of the oven.
Fresh out of the oven.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)










